Model Cars Magazine Forum

The Orange Crate - '32 Ford Sedan

Phildaupho

DSCN1383-vi.jpgHosted on Fotki

I do not recall seeing the full scale Orange Crate back in the day but the magazine articles and model kit made a big impression on me although this is my first build attempt. I had couple of those previous reissues with the weird parts molded in colored plastic but they did not appeal to me so I got rid of them. The most recent reissue with the great classic box-art, corrected hood and new decals as well as the great article and photos in The Rodder’s Journal inspired me to finally build The Orange Crate.

I decided this would be my annual summer camping project. This would be a simple build like I built models as a kid with a combination of brush and rattle can painting. I did some preparation of parts and painted everything before hand but 95% of final assembly was done during three afternoons on a camping trip with the grandsons and their grandmother. I ran out of glue and lost the steering column but was able to fabricate a new one from the plastic rear axle.

Simple of course does mean it was easy as this mid-60’s kit lived up to its reputation. The kit is very accurate and as such many of the parts are very small and fragile. There are a lot of chrome parts on two trees that have a great deal of flash, molding seams and marks. Plus the parts are very tightly spaced with mountings heavier than the parts themselves. Fortunately I brought my silver lacquer paint to touch up the chrome. The instructions have been updated and there is a complete parts list however locating pins and holes are very small and the orientation is some cases is vague.

- The exterior paint is Testor’s One Coat Lacquer Firey Orange with Clear Top Coat [the real car’s last original paint is candy orange with ghost flames which I never even thought about trying to duplicate]

- Orange ignition wires added

- Headers outlets drilled open