Model Cars Magazine Forum

Wheel Arch Moldings

I was just in the process of beginning the foil on my current project and thought that this tip might be helpful to some members.

I have heard some people voice their contempt for foiling wheel well moldings, but this technique may help make it a little easier.

It helps a lot for me.

As a matter of fact, I use it for a large portion of the exterior trim on my builds.

First cut a piece of foil large enough to cover the entire wheel opening.

Then cut a very thin strip of blue painters tape and lay it along the edge of the trim where you want your cut to be.

Let the edge of the tape be your guide for the tip of your knife blade to ride against.

I have been using this technique for many years and it always provides consistent results for me.

It's simple really, but it's much easier and more accurate than free handing.

Steve

2v2EbwRNqxwUbWP.jpg

2v2EbwRrFxwUbWP.jpg

I've sometimes done the same thing. I've also put the guide strip on before the foil. You can still see and follow the edge, AND when you take the masking strip off, the excess foil adhesive residue comes up with it--nothing to clean up! B)

18 minutes ago, NOBLNG said:

Terrific tip! as I was reading it, I was imagining the tape underneath the foil. I was going to question you Steven if that would also work, but I see Richard has answered that for me. Thank Guys! 

Part of the reason that I put the tape on the outside of the foil is, not only does the tape edge give something for the blade to ride against, but the blue color creates a contrast between the foil, the tape and the blade to make it easier to see what you're doing while you're cutting.

Many times the unwanted piece of foil will come off when you pull the tape off anyway, and I usually clean off any foil adhesive residue later with a dab of WD-40 on a Q-tip.

Steve

3 hours ago, StevenGuthmiller said:

I usually clean off any foil adhesive residue later with a dab of WD-40 on a Q-tip.