Model Cars Magazine Forum

Buying kits at swap meets

I bought a model of AMT's Matador NASCAR racer. I probably payed way too much for it...about $28. All there, but opened. I am a builder not a collector obviously but I figured those big swap meet/car shows are not the place to buy kits. Most vendors that had NASCAR models were selling them at $5 a kit which is about correct...except for the Alan Kulwicki or Dick Trickle cars which are up to abut $50 to $100. Clearly because those are local to Wisconsin. a lot of vendors now are trying to sell reissues at vintage original prices. They know that they are reissues and they know that you know they are reissues. They just have some kind of weird screwed up thought process that they think they should command high prices only because the tooling is the same. I usually ask if they really intend to sell those kits or are they actually running a museum. This was at The Fall Jefferson swap meet and is a big deal in Wisconsin.

Every show I go to there are guys that are asking out of this world prices for very common kits. They seem to be asking two to three times what they are actually worth. 3 tables further on you will see the same kit at another guys booth for $10. Same as everything in life, if you shop around a bit you can get a good deal. If it is a kit that you just have to have right then and there you may have to pay the premium to get it. If it is one that is going to be added to the stash and not built for a while then you can wait 2 or 3 shows and find one for a good price.